I’m here, you can see I’m here… Say it

20140602-022912-8952799.jpg

Here’s one. Bravado. There’s loads of that about. There’s a lot of the “oh if he was here now I’d say this…” That’s a popular one. As I’m sure you’re aware, it’s also the most popular lie. In my first post, I wrote about empty vessels making the most noise, I seem to be picking up on a theme here, or maybe my life is just full of empty vessels. I noticed a post on Facebook, I think, something about the difference between men and women fighting. The post went something along the lines of; 5 minutes after men fight they are best mates, 30 years after women fight they still hate each other. There’s some truth in this, but it’s nothing to do with gender. There are two types of people when it comes to issues of anger and confrontation amongst each other. There is the person who doesn’t gossip, doesn’t tell the world what he/she will or won’t do, doesn’t berate their apparent opponent and generally lives their own life, and reacts when confronted in a manner true to themselves. I love this person. Anyone who remains the same, has my utmost respect, because let’s face it, sometimes it takes a lot not to fold, or at least bend slightly, on certain issues. I mean, we all want to keep the peace don’t we?

Well, no. No we don’t. Because there is that second group of people. Personified by the person who, won’t take no shit, allegedly. The person who says it how it is, apparently. Basically, remember Mouth from the Goonies? Well, a sinister version of him. A liar, a story teller, a pain in the arse.

There are times for subtlety. In a working environment, we’re all subject to the paymaster at the end of the day, and we have to obey certain rules. Fighting in the office is a no-no, as far as I’m aware. But socially? There is no referee. No warden, policing what you can and can’t say. So why do the underhanded jabs exist. Why can’t these people address their true feelings and get their issues out. I’d have so much more respect for them. I’d even class them in the first group of people. I’d go as far as to say I love them. But no, this second group of people seem to thrive on the clandestine pursuit of getting one of over on a rival/target/any rational human being.

I don’t understand this. Maybe it’s just me, I mean, I do love an argument, but why throw a half hearted dig? In a boxing match you wouldn’t be rewarded for it. You’d find yourself on the wrong side of a knockout blow if you picked the wrong target. Ask George Groves. And what is boxing? It’s a perfect manifestation of everyone’s lives, everyday. It’s the physical representation of verbal sparring. Give a little here, take something there, line up the killer blow. Boom. It’s done. Yet, I am consistently surprised by the amount of these “group 2” people who attempt to start sparring, when they are clearly unarmed, or unprepared for what will follow.

This is turning into quite the rant here. It doesn’t take Sherlock Holmes to tell you I’ve had a run in with a “group 2” person recently. But my own frustrations aside, isn’t life too short? Put up or shut up is a phrase I’ve heard. It should be a mantra for everyone. If you’ve got something to say, say it. Don’t make sly remarks and run and claim victory. If you don’t feel like you can win the battle, then you must be wrong, so don’t start it.

To be honest though, I love an argument, so if you are debating about whether to have one with me, I’d say do it. Then when you lose we can be mates. But if you’re one of them group 2ers, I’d say jib it, because I’ll only end up writing a blog about you because I haven’t got the bottle to say it to your face.

Wait there….. Oh shit.

Standard

Leave a Reply

