I’m Not Like Anybody Else

  Have you ever noticed how the people who don’t think they are cool, are actually the coolest people? Or how the people that think they are normal, are usually pretty special? It’s good that isn’t it. When people underestimate themselves but you can see their strengths shining through, it’s endearing. It makes you like that person that little bit more. Humility. 

I’m not saying that people shouldn’t be confident in themselves, or that you must undersell yourself to be likeable, but what I am saying is that there is a group of people at the polar opposite. The people who claim to be great without proving anything. Those whose actions are a marked removal from their proclamations. 

The people who claim from the outset that they are not like everyone else. I’m not one for talking about myself, I’d go as far as to say I hate it, as it makes me uncomfortable. Clearly, I’ve got some issues, but we aren’t here to have a go at me; it’s these others pricks that need addressing right now. It’s gotten to a point where hearing “I’m not like anyone else” or something similar, is like an alarm bell. It’s an air raid siren, but an air raid siren for a flock of seagulls that have been eating the remnants of last nights curry all day, and are about to do a fly by. You’re not going to die, but you’re going to get seriously shit on.

If people put the same amount of effort into their actions as they do into their self promotion campaigns and image building then I’m sure they could become the person that they wish to be. 

I’ve never been one for unnecessary praise. If I haven’t personally achieved something then I don’t want praise for it. I don’t care how close I was to the successful task, unless it was my responsibility then don’t thank me. It’s something I’ve always thought about wages. I can’t bring myself to accept a set wage. I want to be paid for my successes. If I have a bad month, I don’t want the same as if I’ve changed the world around me in another month. I’m all for performance related pay and praise where it’s actually due. Again, the “I’m not like everybody else” crowd are the polar opposite. They want paying and they want praise; usually for something they haven’t actually done. 

It seems to be the same type of person that I moan about on here all the time, but it’s because there’s so many of them about. I seem to just be gaining the knowledge to pick out each disgusting personality trait. It’s not a male or female trait, as the two people I have in mind at the time of writing are opposite sexes. It’s a horrible trait of a sense of entitlement. 

I really could go on about this for a long time, but I feel like in some way I’d be promoting these people. I’m sure I’d be classed as a hater.

I like a little rant, it gets all this off my chest and it helps me to get to my own conclusion that all these self promoters can tell as many lies as they like, but if you were to judge them by their actual successes, then it would all go quiet, very quickly. To finish with a quote from someone who inspires me…..

Men lie, women lie, numbers don’t – Jay Z

Standard

Leave a Reply

